The Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) announced today its 2015 Field of the Year award winners.

STMALogoThe 2015 winners include:

Baseball: Ed Smith Stadium at Baltimore Orioles (Sarasota, Florida); Daniel Thomas, Head Groundskeeper
Soccer: MAPFRE Stadium at Columbus Crew SC (Columbus, Ohio); Weston Appelfeller, CSFM, Director of Grounds

College and University
: Davis Wade Stadium at Mississippi State University (Starkville, Mississippi); Brandon Hardin, Sports Turf Superintendent
Softball: Cyrill Softball Stadium at University of South Carolina Upstate (Spartanburg, South Carolina); Bruce Suddeth, Director of Building & Landscape Services
(PICTURED HERE) Soccer: Klöckner Stadium at University of Virginia (Charlottesville, Virginia); Jesse Pritchard, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager; Phil Bathalon, Assistant Sports Turf Manager
Sporting Grounds: Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University (Kennesaw, Georgia); Shane Hohlbein, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager

Schools and Parks
: Ivey-Watson Field at Gainesville City Schools (Gainesville, Georgia); David Presnell, CSFM, Turf Manager
Football: North Area Athletic Complex Field at Jefferson County School District (Golden, Colorado); Sun Roesslein, Stadium Manager; Christi Clay, Stadium Manager
Softball: Blue Eagle Softball Complex at Clover School District (Clover, South Carolina); Will Rogers, CSFM, Sports Turf Manager
Soccer: Varsity Soccer Field at Collegiate School (Goochland, Virginia); Allison Moyer, Grounds Manager
Sporting Grounds: Championship Field at Pleasant View Sports Complex (Boulder, Colorado); John Cogdill, Park Turf & Irrigation Manager

Since 1992, STMA’s Field of the Year award has presented to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting grounds at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12) and parks and recreation level.

“Each year, we look forward to hand-picking the best natural grass athletic surfaces in the country through the Field of the Year award,” said Kim Heck, CEO of STMA. “With a record number of applicants in 2015, the selection process has become more rigorous, which serves as a testament to the high-quality fields our 2,600-plus members produce across the U.S.”

A panel of 15 judges independently scored entries based on playability, appearance of surfaces, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program.

Awards will be presented at the STMA Conference & Exhibition in San Diego, California, which takes place Jan. 19-22.