The Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) recently announced its 2016 Field of the Year award winners.

STMALogoThe 2016 winners include:


  • Baseball: Smokies Stadium, Tennessee Smokies (Kodak, Tennessee). Anthony DeFeo, CSFM, head groundskeeper
  • Soccer: Toyota Park, Chicago Fire (Bridgeview, Illinois). Joel White, turf manager
  • Sporting Grounds: Infinity Park, city of Glendale, Colorado. Noel Harryman, CSFM, manager of turf operations


  • Baseball: Pacer Field, Marywood University (Scranton, Pennsylvania). Rob Galdieri, sports turf manager
  • Football: Spartan Stadium, Michigan State University (East Lansing, Michigan). Amy Fouty, CSFM, athletic turf manager
  • Soccer: Merlo Field, University of Portland (Portland, Oregon). Kevin White, athletic field manager
  • Softball: Pacer Field, Marywood University (Scranton, Pennsylvania). Rob Galdieri, sports turf manager
  • Sporting Grounds: Fifth Third Bank Stadium, Kennesaw State (Kennesaw, Georgia). Shane Hohlbein, CSFM, sports turf manager


  • Baseball: The Nest, Clover School District (Clover, South Carolina). Will Rogers, CSFM, sports turf manager
  • Football: Carson Stadium, Christ Church Episcopal School (Greenville, South Carolina). Brian Dossett, CSFM, head sports field manager
  • Soccer: White River Soccer Complex, Noblesville High School (Noblesville, Indiana). Joshua Weigel, grounds superintendent
  • Softball: Champs Field, Gulfport SportsPlex (Gulfport, Mississippi). Ken Edwards, CSFM, sports turf manager
  • Sporting Grounds: Raiders Stadium, Atlee High School (Mechanicsville, Virginia). Marc Moran, CSFM, agriculture/horticulture instructor

“Through the ‘Field of the Year Program,’ the members of our Awards Committee independently select the most superior natural grass playing surfaces that exemplify both safety and playability,” says Kim Heck, CAE, STMA’s CEO. “We are excited by the significant number of applicants, which made for difficult decisions but shows the size, scope and continued innovation of the sports turf industry.”

A panel of 11 judges independently scored entries based on playability, appearance of surfaces, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program.

Moran has now received this honor four times (2006, 2009, 2010, 2016), each in a different sporting category. Three-time winners include Harryman (2012, 2013, 2016), Rogers (2014, 2015, 2016) and Weigel (2012, 2014, 2016). Second-time award winners include Fouty (2013, 2016), White (2013, 2016) and Hohlbein (2015, 2016).

These awards will be presented at the 2017 STMA Conference & Exhibition at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort, held from Jan. 24-27, 2017.