The STMA and Minor League Baseball (MiLB) recently announced the 2015 “Sports Turf Manager of the Year” award winners, who include:

  • Class AAA: John Stewart, Syracuse Chiefs (Syracuse, New York)
  • Class AA: Brock Phipps, Springfield Cardinals (Springfield, Missouri, *field pictured here )
  • Class A: Keith Winter, Fort Wayne Tincaps (Fort Wayne, Indiana)
  • Short Season/Rookie: David Yearout, Spokane Indians (Spokane, Washington)

“Each year, we highlight members in MiLB with the recognition they deserve for producing high-quality, safe and playable fields,” said Kim Heck, CEO of the STMA. “In an And the Winners are … industry where Mother Nature is unpredictable, these individuals find innovative and persistent ways to maintain excellent field conditions.” Phipps and Winter are both being honored for the third consecutive time (2013, 2014). Yearout is a second-time winner (2014) and Stewart is a first-time winner.

Winners are selected via a 16-member awards committee, compiled by the STMA. Each nominee is independently scored on cultural practices, game day routine, resource utilization, staff management and the groundskeeper’s involvement and support of the sports turf industry. STMA presented these awards to recipients at the annual Major League Baseball Winter Meetings awards luncheon in Nashville, Tennessee on Dec. 7.